4 Florida news organizations win SPJ SDX Awards for excellence

Sigma Delta Chi logo

The Society of Professional Journalists is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Sigma Delta Chi Awards for excellence in journalism. The SPJ Region 3 area which includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands won four Sigma Delta Chi Awards; all from Florida.

Alicia Zuckerman

Alicia Zuckerman

Ken Willis

Ken Willis

Josh Salman

Josh Salman

Michael Braga

Michael Braga

tim elfrink

Tim Elfrink

Judges chose the winners from entries in categories covering print, radio, television and online. The awards recognize outstanding work published or broadcast in 2017.

Dating back to 1932, the awards originally honored six individuals for contributions to journalism. The current program began in 1939, when the Society granted the first Distinguished Service Awards. The honors later became the Sigma Delta Chi Awards.

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

Sigma Delta Chi award winners will be honored at an awards banquet on June 8 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

Society of Professional Journalists



Twitter  @spj_3

SPJ Region 3 logo


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s