SPJ Region 3 announces Mark of Excellence national winners for its area

Mark of Excellence logo 2017

Indianapolis, INDIANA — The Society of Professional Journalists congratulates the 2017 Mark of Excellence Awards national winners. The MOE Awards honor the best of collegiate journalism within a calendar year.

National Mark of Excellence Award winners are chosen from the category winners in each of SPJ’s 12 regions, and the awards are judged by journalism professionals with at least three years of experience. Lists of regional winners can be found in SPJ News.

SPJ will recognize first-place national winners at the Student Union event during Excellence in Journalism 2018, Sept. 27-29 in Baltimore, Maryland.

SPJ Region 3 MOE winners include:


Breaking News Reporting (Large school division)
Finalist: “Protesters take a stand, outnumber Spencer supporters” – by Ian Cohen, Romy Ellenbogen, David Hoffman and Jimena Tavel, The Independent Florida Alligator, University of Floridaindependent alligatorGeneral News Reporting (Large school division)
Finalist: “Succession of scandals hits Auburn Athletics” – by Chip Brownlee, Sam Willoughby and Will Sahlie, The Auburn Plainsman, Auburn UniversityAuburn PlainsmanSports Column Writing
Winner: Ethan Bauer, The Independent Alligator, University of Floridaindependent alligatorBest All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper
Finalist: The Miami Hurricane – by Staff, University of MiamiMiami HurricaneART/GRAPHICS

Breaking News Photography (Large school division)
Finalist: “Hunter sets eyes on governing after SGA presidential win,” – by Jacob Arthur, The Crimson White, University of AlabamaCrimson WhiteRADIO

Radio In-Depth Reporting
Winner: “When the lights go out, and stay out” – by Luke Sullivan, University of FloridaWUFT radioTELEVISION

Television Breaking News Reporting
Finalist: “Pulse anniversary” – by Ryan Roberts and Daniela Hurtado, University of Florida



Television Sports Reporting
Winner: “D’Mauri Jones: Painting inspiration” – by David Perez, University of Miami

Best All-Around Television Newscast
Finalist: “WUFT News First at Five” – by WUFT NEWS Student Staff, University of Florida

WUFT TV logo


Best Affiliated Web Site
Winner: “Alpine Living New Zealand” – by Jonathan Norris, Taylor Armer, Kaylin Bowen and Hailey Grace Steele, University of Alabama

Alpine online

Best Use of Multimedia
Finalist: “Our Gainesville” – by Staff of WUFT News, University of Florida

WUFT radio

Judges were directed to choose only those entries they considered outstanding work worthy of a national honor. If the judges determined none of the entries rose to this level of excellence, no award was given. Any category not listed has no winner.

School divisions are based on student enrollment, which includes both graduate and undergraduate enrollment. Large schools have 10,000+ students and small schools have fewer than 10,000 students.

Please direct details on national winners, and direct any MOE Awards questions to SPJ Program Coordinator Christine Cordial at ccordial@spj.org.

The list reflects the spelling and titles submitted in the award-entry process.

Note: The Online/Digital News Videography category is still under consideration. This list will be updated with the results once they are finalized.

SPJ Region 3 logo

Society of Professional Journalists



Twitter  @spj_3