SPJ Florida announces 2019 Sunshine State Awards competition

The Society of Professional Journalists’ Florida Pro Chapter announces the 2019 Sunshine State Awards competition, recognizing outstanding journalism from calendar year 2018. The contest, now in its 25th year, is open to all professional print, broadcast and online journalists in Florida, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The Spanish-language division is presented in partnership with the National Association of Hispanic Journalists South Florida chapter. The contest also offers a Student division for students at Florida colleges and universities.

Professional journalists and journalism educators from outside the Florida market will judge all entries and may award first-, second- and third-place honors in each category. The finalist list will be emailed to all entrants by early May. Winners will be announced at the annual Sunshine State Awards ceremony this summer.

New this year: We have added Editor of the Year and SPJ Florida are also recognizing drone journalism in the Photography category. Last year, the chapter added Disaster Reporting, Photojournalist of the Year, New Journalist of the Year, and revamped the television category. See all categories.

Link HERE to see last year’s winners.