Sunshine State Awards finalists announced by SPJ Florida

SPJ Florida Sunshine Award logo

The 2017 SPJ Florida Sunshine State Awards finalists have been selected in each category with the first, second and third-place finishers to be announced at the Sunshine State Awards ceremony on July 22, 2017, in Miami, Florida.


James Batten Award for Public Service

  • Sarasota Herald Tribune – Maggie Clark, Medicaid
  • Tampa Bay Times – Laura Reiley, Farm to fable
  • – Staff, Project: Blue

Gene Miller Award for Investigative Reporting

  • Fusion – Staff of Fusion, Dirty Little Secrets
  • Sarasota Herald Tribune – Josh Salman, Emily Le Coz, Elizabeth Johnson, Bias on the bench
  • Tampa Bay Times – William R. Levesque, Nathaniel Lash, Anthony Cormier, Breakdown of Oversight

Diversity Award

  • The Daytona Beach News-Journal – Lola Gomez, Living in the Shadows – Lola Gomez
  • The Florida Times-Union – Tia Mitchell, Tia Mitchell Diversity Award
  • WTSP-TV – Emerald Morrow, Diversity Matters

First Amendment Foundation Freedom of Information Award

  • Sarasota Herald Tribune – Josh Salman, Emily Le Coz, Elizabeth Johnson, Bias on the bench
  • The Villages Daily Sun – Staff, Redefining Justice
  • WLRN News – Rowan Moore Gerety, Rowan Moore Gerety: Say My Name, School Suspensions and Pulse 911 Records

Integrity Florida Award for Public Corruption Reporting

  • Miami Herald – Michael Sallah, Jay Weaver, Opa-locka: City for Sale
  • Sarasota Herald Tribune – Lee Williams, Prosecutor Pub Crawl
  • The Florida Times-Union – Christopher Hong, Nate Monroe, Steve Patterson, Corrine Brown Connections

Journalist of the Year

  • The Palm Beach Post – Pat Beall, Pat Beall
  • WLRN News – Sammy Mack, Sammy Mack
  • WPBF 25 News – Terri Parker, Terri Parker Reports

To see the complete list of all categories and finalists, link HERE.